TIFF Review: Life of Crime (2013) – Daniel Schechter (TIFF)

LIFE OF CRIME: Directed by Daniel Schechter

article-2420827-1BD2F676000005DC-983_634x689

Plot Summary from tiff.net:

“Fresh out of prison, where they bonded over their similar convictions for grand theft auto, Ordell (bey, also at the Festival in Can a Song Save Your Life?) and Louis (Hawkes) have already decided to team up when they catch wind of Frank Dawson (Tim Robbins), a Detroit property developer and secret embezzler. Their plan is simple: they’ll kidnap Frank’s country-club wife, Mickey (Jennifer Aniston), and hold her for ransom. What the duo didn’t count on is that Frank’s affections have turned to his perky young mistress, Melanie (played by the always charming Isla Fisher), and he may not be in a rush to rescue his spouse. Eliciting Mickey’s insider knowledge, the crooks shift gears, frantically devising a new plan.”

– How many films are there where crooks hold someone ransom for a large sum of money?  Here’s another one.

– I have no idea why TIFF decided to make this their closing screening.  I wasn’t at the ‘main event’, but it was my last screening, which was a poor choice by me.

– I wasn’t interested in any of the characters, and like I’ve said in other reviews I’m not into crime films that are comedies.  This film was supposed to be humerous but I didn’t find much of it funny.

– Watching Jennifer Aniston and Isla Fisher act was pretty pathetic.

– I knew I was in trouble when in the first scene I couldn’t understand one word Mos Def said.

Partly because it was my last screening of a long week, but mostly because the film is bad…I wasn’t into LIFE OF CRIME at all.  This was a very poor choice by me because I don’t even like any of the actors that are in this, and the story didn’t sound particularly interesting.  There’s too much goofiness and unrealistic events that I don’t like to see in a crime film.  All the characters personalities were the same and I didn’t feel anything for them.  Out of the 22 films I saw in the past week, LIFE OF CRIME was my least favourite.

LIFE OF CRIME: 3/10

Leave a comment