Review: The Fault in Our Stars – Josh Boone (2014)

fault-our-stars-movie-posterThe Fault in Our Stars: Directed by Josh Boone

From IMDB: Hazel and Gus are two teenagers who share an acerbic wit, a disdain for the conventional, and a love that sweeps them on a journey. Their relationship is all the more miraculous given that Hazel’s other constant companion is an oxygen tank, Gus jokes about his prosthetic leg, and they met and fell in love at a cancer support group.

– This is based on the novel by the same title, which was written by John Green.

– I’ve read all of his books, and although they are a bit juvenile I did enjoy them.  It may be because I read THE FAULT IN OUR STARS when I was older, but it’s my least favourite novel of his.

– Just like the novel, I think the target market for this story is teenaged girls.  I believe that demographic would enjoy this film more than any other.

– I realize that this is an adaptation of a best selling novel, but everything about it was a bit too ‘perfect.’  The bright colours and clearness of the film, and the perfect looking characters was just too much for a film with a depressing and sad mood.

– In the past year or so Shailene Woodley has become one of the most in-demand young actresses out there.  After a smaller role in THE DESCENDANTS in 2011, she’s had major roles in films like THE SPECTACULAR NOW, DIVERGENT, and the upcoming WHITE BIRD IN A BLIZZARD.  In the first half of THE FAULT IN OUR STARS I didn’t think her performance was anything special.  Her character was very similar to the one she played in THE SPECTACULAR NOW.  Just a shy teenaged girl who falls in love with a boy.  However, in the second half she really steps it up.  To take the film to another level she needed to deliver some very emotional scenes, and she executes them perfectly.

 – Playing her love interest is Ansel Elgort.  This guy was a big problem for me.  Instead of a story about a normal teenaged guy, I had to watch this actor say ridiculous lines that I thought I would only see in something like Shakespeare.  A lot of his dialogue was too corny and didn’t seem real or authentic to any normal teenager.

– Something I hated about the book was the trip to Amsterdam, but obviously it had to be added into the film.  I didn’t think this was important at all to the overall story, and with a run-time of over two hours, it just made things drag on a little too long.

– The clapping in the Anne Frank house and the egg throwing was a little too much for me.

the-fault-in-our-stars-still

I went into THE FAULT IN OUR STARS knowing the demographic it was made for, but I was hoping for a bit of a surprise.  Unfortunately, it ended up being exactly what I thought it would be, but in the end it’s a solid film for the right type of person.  Shailene Woodley gives a very real and nice performance, and the emotional aspect of the story can really make you think about how precious life can be.

THE FAULT IN OUR STARS: 6.5/10

 

Leave a Reply

